Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Teaching

This guide contains great resources for teachers about many of issues in teaching.

Featured Books

Educator Wellness

Educators make thousands of decisions and encounter and experience varied emotions at work; without an efficient wellness routine, educators' jobs can result in prolonged stress. In Educator Wellness: A Guide for Sustaining Physical, Mental, Emotional, and Social Well-Being, authors Timothy D. Kanold and Tina H. Boogren provide a framework to guide and support K-12 educators in continuously sustaining personal and collective wellness plans.

Successful Online Learning with Gifted Students

This innovative, technology-based resource provides those who teach gifted and advanced learners in grades 5-8 with quality, research-based, online lessons, tools, and insights. This must-have guidebook: Offers ready-to-implement virtual lessons, simulations, and learning modules. Explains how teachers can create, develop, differentiate, and modify existing lessons through an online platform. Includes additional helpful strategies addressing online student accountability, etiquette, and collaboration. Shares useful tips for communicating with parents. Empowers middle school teachers with practical tools and applications proven successful with gifted and advanced learners.

Become the Primary Teacher Everyone Wants to Have

No matter how much you want to teach and no matter how well prepared you are, beginning teaching is tough. A teacher's work is never done; even when you work hard, there is always something more you could do. Become the Primary Teacher Everyone Wants to Have tells you what teaching is really like. As you set out on your teaching career, this book offers thoughtful and sensible support from an experienced and sympathetic teacher. Whether you read the book through from cover to cover or dip into sections you need at particular times, each page has suggestions and ideas to help you lay a solid foundation for a fruitful and fulfilling career in teaching.

What to Expect When You're Expected to Teach Gifted Students

What to Expect When You're Expected to Teach Gifted Studentsis a practical, easy-to-read guide that: Reviews expectations versus likely classroom realities that first-time gifted teachers may face. Includes real-world advice for navigating the joys, surprises, and frustrations. Addresses specific topics related to gifted education, including students' social-emotional needs. Includes considerations for choosing appropriate curricular materials and working with parents and families. Features ways to advocate for gifted and advanced programming and tips for continued professional learning.

We Belong

We Belong offers 50 targeted strategies to increase students' sense of belonging and reinforce the habits that support classroom harmony and learning success.

7 Ways to Transform the Lives of Wounded Students

7 Ways to Transform the Lives of Wounded Students provides a wealth of strategies and ideas for teachers and principals who work with wounded students--those who are beyond the point of "at-risk" and have experienced trauma in their lives. Sharing stories and examples from real schools and students, this inspirational book examines the seven key strategies necessary for changing school culture to transform the lives of individual students. Recognizing the power of effective leadership and empathy in creating a sense of community and safety for wounded students,

Behaviour Barriers and Beyond

This practical resource helps school staff to reframe behaviour as a means of communicating a need, ensuring they can sensitively and effectively support children with a range of Social, Emotional and Mental Health (SEMH) needs and Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND). With case studies and examples woven throughout, the book focuses on relational and strength-based approaches to improve mental health and wellbeing, self-esteem, sense of safety and, in turn, behaviour and educational outcomes.

How to Get These Books

If you would like to borrow any of these titles:

  • click on the book cover or the title of the book you would like to borrow
  • you will land in the library catalogue
  • login in to the catalogue with your ATA account
  • click the box next to the title
  • click the 'email request' button on the left side of the screen
  • allow pop-ups
  • fill out the form with your name and email address if they aren't in the pop-up box
  • you will get a copy of the email in your inbox

How it works:

  • Loans are for 4 weeks
  • Shipping is prepaid both ways!
  • To return items, 
    • Put the enclosed sticker on the outside of the box/envelope and drop it into a Canada Post box

Remote Teaching

The Complete Edtech Coach

In The Complete EdTech Coach, they offer both aspiring and longtime edtech coaches a comprehensive plan for developing programs that truly serve students. With Juarez and Goyette's guidance, you'll learn how to meet educators where they are while still offering them the support necessary to reach for what's possible.

Teaching in the Online Classroom

This guide explores the challenges involved in online teaching and guides educators and administrators to identify and understand best practices

Distance Learning for Elementary STEM

This practical guide outlines a vision for online and distance STEM learning at the elementary level, with creative activities based on eight STEM themes.

Shifting to Digital

This comprehensive guide provides specific strategies for planning high-engagement instruction, handling technology, assessing collaboration and assignments, and more.

All In

Schools must remain focused on the goal of inclusion, even when students are learning from home. Distance learning poses many obstacles, but it also offers unique opportunities.

Connecting with Students Online

Featuring simplified, commonsense suggestions, 55 step-by-step teaching strategies, and video examples of Jen conferring and working with small groups, Connecting with Students Online helps new teachers, teachers new to technology, or anyone who wants to better understand the essence of effective online instruction

Empowered at a Distance

In Empowered at a Distance, Dr. John Spencer provides teachers, coaches, and administrators with a roadmap that will inspire anytime / anywhere innovation at the K-12 and university levels.

Rigor in the Remote Learning Classroom

In this essential book, bestselling author Barbara R. Blackburn shares frameworks and tools to help you move online without compromising the rigor of your instruction.

Humanizing Distance Learning

This book is equal parts visionary and practical, courageous and invitational. It addresses foundational needs and wrenching challenges teachers faced during the recent time when U.S. teachers abruptly found themselves teaching remotely.

Home | Contact Us

© 2020 The Alberta Teachers’ Association

Report a broken link