Skip to Main Content
35mm Stock Footage
Open source stock film that students can use in their multimedia projects.
The official site of Creative Commons, a nonprofit organization that develops, supports, and stewards legal and technical infrastructure that maximizes digital creativity, sharing, and innovation.
Flikr: The Commons
Search for publicly available images within the Flickr database; they have been made available by public institutions or have been licensed for open use by individuals.
This UK-based collection of free stock photos can be used for personal or educational purposes.
Freerange Stock Images
This is a collection of free stock photos, available for commercial and non-commercial use.
Google's Material Design Icons
Google has released hundreds of material icons (crafted symbols for common actions and items) with a Creative Commons license. You can use any of these icons if you attribute the Google Material Design project and Share Alike (include the same open license).
This site describes itself as the "quirkiest collection of high-resolution free stock images". The site also links to Shutterstock, which offers additional images at a cost.
GRID-Arendal Photo Library
This collection of free stock photography also includes a complementary colour palette (HEX colours).
LIFE photo archive
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, from the 1750s to today. The images include famous personalities as well as photos of American history and Americana. These are for personal, non-commercial use only.
Metropolitan Museum of Art - Images
The Metropolitan Museum of Art has made over 375,000 images of public domain artworks available for free and unrestricted use. Images include treasures owned and displayed by the Met such as famous paintings, armor, statues and art objects. Search the digital catalogue.
NASA Image Galleries
NASA has high resolution image collections available on their website. Here you can find images of the moon landing, astronauts, space shuttles, astronomy picture of the day and more. Most NASA images are not copyrighted; take a look at the image information to be sure.
This is a collection of free stock photos, published under a Creative Commons (CC0) license.
NOAA Photo Gallery
Most of the NOAA photos are in the public domain which means that there is no fee for downloading any of these images. Credit should be given to the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration and the photographer if noted.
Search for icons that can be downloaded and used in student and teacher creations. There is also the ability to create and share your own unique icons.
NYPL Digital Collections
The New York Public Library has made almost 180,000 pieces of their digital collection open in the public domain. The NYPL is exploring different ways to make these pieces accessible to the public.
Find free stock photos and videos. This site uses images their community of photographers plus Pixabay, Gratisography, and Little Visuals.
Photos for Class
This website provides safe appropriate images for the classroom and for educational purposes, all with accurate image citations. All photos shown are licensed by Creative Commons for public use.
This is a copyright-free image library for teachers and students. The collection has thousands of images that have been donated by students, teachers, and amateur photographers. Permission has been granted for teachers and students to use any of the images.
Public Domain Pictures
This site provides a repository for free public domain images. Download high quality HD photos for your projects and presentations. There are a few professional photos that have a cost, so watch the terms below each picture.
The photos on this site are licensed under a CC0 public domain license, which makes them available for anyone to use. The site regularly uploads new images, so check back often.
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Digital Media Gallery
The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service's digital media library has an assortment of selected images, video and audio clips that are in the public domain. You are free to use them as you wish - no permission is necessary. Please give appropriate credit or citation.
United States Department of Agriculture Image Gallery
The US Dept of Agriculture has a collection of high resolution photos available for download and organized into categories (crops, animals, insects, food, plants, and more). The 2,000+ images in their galleries are copyright-free, public domain images unless otherwise indicated.
Scroll through some of these amazing open use photos. All of the photos have been public domain dedicated and are free for you to use. New photos are added regularly.
This is a database of media files (images, sound, video) that are freely available for use. Use the Search box at the top or browse topics listed on the right side. Scroll to the bottom of the page for tips on browsing, using, identifying or creating files.
Home | Contact Us
© 2020 The Alberta Teachers’ Association
Report a broken link