Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Beginning Teachers

Resources to support teachers in their first years of teaching

New Teachers

What to Expect When You're Expected to Teach Gifted Students

What to Expect When You're Expected to Teach Gifted Studentsis a practical, easy-to-read guide that: Reviews expectations versus likely classroom realities that first-time gifted teachers may face. Includes real-world advice for navigating the joys, surprises, and frustrations. Addresses specific topics related to gifted education, including students' social-emotional needs. Includes considerations for choosing appropriate curricular materials and working with parents and families. Features ways to advocate for gifted and advanced programming and tips for continued professional learning.

Put a Wet Paper Towel on It: the Weird and Wonderful World of Primary Schools

THE SENSATIONAL SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER A heart-warming and hilarious look at life in the classroom from the teachers who host the most popular UK education podcast,

Teaching Self-Regulation

With this timely resource you'll gain 75 instructional activities to teach self-regulation in any secondary classroom. Ample teacher-tested tools and templates are also included to help you create authentic learning experiences and deliver effective feedback.

Behaviour Barriers and Beyond

This practical resource helps school staff to reframe behaviour as a means of communicating a need, ensuring they can sensitively and effectively support children with a range of Social, Emotional and Mental Health (SEMH) needs and Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND).

Responding to Problem Behavior in Schools, Third Edition

Now revised and expanded with the latest research and adaptations for additional target behaviors, this is the gold-standard guide to Check-In, Check-Out (CICO), the most widely implemented Tier 2 behavior intervention.

Risk. Fail. Rise

In Risk. Fail. Rise. teachers will learn how to address their own teaching mistakes, model with their own mistake-making, and improve their response to others' mistakes.

How to Get These Books

If you would like to borrow any of these titles:

  • click on the book cover or the title of the book you would like to borrow
  • you will land in the library catalogue
  • login in to the catalogue with your ATA account
  • click the box next to the title
  • click the 'email request' button on the left side of the screen
  • allow pop-ups
  • fill out the form with your name and email address if they aren't in the pop-up box
  • you will get a copy of the email in your inbox

How it works:

  • Loans are for 4 weeks
  • Shipping is prepaid both ways!
  • To return items, 
    • Put the enclosed sticker on the outside of the box/envelope and drop it into a Canada Post box

Classroom Management

We Belong

We Belong offers 50 targeted strategies to increase students' sense of belonging and reinforce the habits that support classroom harmony and learning success.

Coaching Your Classroom

In Coaching Your Classroom, authors Garnet Hillman and Mandy Stalets share a fresh perspective on effective classroom feedback for all grade levels and content areas.

Reclaim Your Challenging Classroom

Reclaim Your Challenging Classroom guides new and veteran teachers alike in developing effective classroom management techniques, with a particular focus on students with emotional or behavioral disorders.

The Smart Classroom Management Way

The Smart Classroom Management Way is a collection of the very best writing from ten years of Smart Classroom Management (SCM).

Take Control of the Noisy Class

This book helps teachers across all age groups connect and succeed with hard-to-reach, reluctant learners. You'll discover: The simple six-step plan to minimise & deal with classroom behaviour problems

The Total Classroom Management Makeover

The Total Classroom Management Makeover is a condensed shortcut to effective classroom management. Presented as simple dos and don'ts, the 18 lessons you'll learn have been boiled down to the bare essentials and written in the most accessible way possible.

Remote Teaching

The Complete Edtech Coach

In The Complete EdTech Coach, they offer both aspiring and longtime edtech coaches a comprehensive plan for developing programs that truly serve students. With Juarez and Goyette's guidance, you'll learn how to meet educators where they are while still offering them the support necessary to reach for what's possible.

Teaching in the Online Classroom

This guide explores the challenges involved in online teaching and guides educators and administrators to identify and understand best practices

Distance Learning for Elementary STEM

This practical guide outlines a vision for online and distance STEM learning at the elementary level, with creative activities based on eight STEM themes.

Shifting to Digital

This comprehensive guide provides specific strategies for planning high-engagement instruction, handling technology, assessing collaboration and assignments, and more.

All In

Schools must remain focused on the goal of inclusion, even when students are learning from home. Distance learning poses many obstacles, but it also offers unique opportunities.

Connecting with Students Online

Featuring simplified, commonsense suggestions, 55 step-by-step teaching strategies, and video examples of Jen conferring and working with small groups, Connecting with Students Online helps new teachers, teachers new to technology, or anyone who wants to better understand the essence of effective online instruction

Empowered at a Distance

In Empowered at a Distance, Dr. John Spencer provides teachers, coaches, and administrators with a roadmap that will inspire anytime / anywhere innovation at the K-12 and university levels.

Rigor in the Remote Learning Classroom

In this essential book, bestselling author Barbara R. Blackburn shares frameworks and tools to help you move online without compromising the rigor of your instruction.

Humanizing Distance Learning

This book is equal parts visionary and practical, courageous and invitational. It addresses foundational needs and wrenching challenges teachers faced during the recent time when U.S. teachers abruptly found themselves teaching remotely.

Teacher Wellness

Educator Wellness

Educators make thousands of decisions and encounter and experience varied emotions at work; without an efficient wellness routine, educators' jobs can result in prolonged stress. In Educator Wellness: A Guide for Sustaining Physical, Mental, Emotional, and Social Well-Being, authors Timothy D. Kanold and Tina H. Boogren provide a framework to guide and support K-12 educators in continuously sustaining personal and collective wellness plans.

Pause. Breathe. Flourish.

Pause. Breathe. Flourish: Living Your Best Life as an Educator explores the habits, practices and mindset necessary for growth as both an educator and a person.

Educator wellbeing

Educator Wellbeing, written in response to the 2020 Global Pandemic, speaks to the long-ignored expectations that Educators live with and the impact on their wellbeing that going above and beyond to serve their students has. This book is a relatable and practical read for teachers to build tools for life, bringing their wellbeing to the forefront. It provides a toolbox of preventative and responsive strategies to help Educators look after their wellbeing so they can continue with supporting their students

The Day I Reached My Tipping Point...

The main objective of the book is to make educators aware of CF and OSI. CF and OSI in educators can be a slow gradual process where teachers may not even realize the effects until something uncharacteristic occurs because he/she has "just snapped".

From Burnt Out to Fired Up

Learn why burnout happens and what you can do to thrive once again. Explore the five Rs--reflect, reframe, refocus, reconnect, and reveal--and understand how each can help counter burnout.

Wherever You Go, There You Are

When Wherever You Go, There You Are was first published in 1994, no one could have predicted that the book would launch itself onto bestseller lists nationwide and sell over 750,000 copies to date. Ten years later, the book continues to change lives. In honor of the book's 10th anniversary, Hyperion is proud to be releasing the book with a new afterword by the author, and to share this wonderful book with an even larger audience

Burnout

This groundbreaking book explains why women experience burnout differently than men-and provides a simple, science-based plan to help women minimize stress, manage emotions, and live a more joyful life.

Motivating Students

Tackling the Motivation Crisis

"Mike Anderson explores incentive systems, which do not motivate achievement or a love of learning, and the six intrinsic motivators that lead to real student engagement"--

Five Paths of Student Engagement

Five Paths of Student Engagement: Blazing the Trail to Learning and Success covers each facet of engagement and recommends practical approaches for classroom instruction, school leadership, and educational policies.

Letting Go of Perfect

This second edition: Explores a state of mind that manifests in unhealthy ways among kids and teens today--the need to be perfect. Features updated research on perfectionism, new strategies, and resources.

You Can Learn!

In You Can Learn! Building Student Ownership, Motivation, and Efficacy With the PLC at Work® Process, authors Tim Brown and William M. Ferriter offer numerous strategies and protocols designed to build self-efficacy in students.

Beautiful Questions in the Classroom

Beautiful Questions in the Classroom has the answers. Written to be both inspirational and practical, this resource will help educators transform their classrooms into cultures of curiosity.

Distracted

In Distracted, Lang rethinks the practice of teaching, revealing how educators can structure their classrooms less as distraction-free zones and more as environments where they can actively cultivate their students' attention.

Home | Contact Us

© 2020 The Alberta Teachers’ Association

Report a broken link