Foundational Knowledge for Indigenous Education

A history of Indigenous communities in the land that became Alberta in the time before contact with Europeans.

Learn about Batoche. Click on 1885 and choose a host to guide you through the 1885 Metis settlement in Batoche. Explore all areas of the town, play games and pick up some useful facts along the way.

Learn about the Canadian Indigenous peoples who voluntarily served in the Canadian military forces.

Read a detailed history of Indigenous suffrage in Canada.

The Canadian Encyclopedia provides a timeline of the life of Métis leader Louis Riel. Scroll to the right or use your mouse's trackball to find events and related resources.

Indigenous histories have been twisted by centuries of colonization. Host Kaniehti:io Horn brings us together to decolonize our minds– one word, one concept, one story at a time.

Often referred to as the Father of Manitoba, Louis Riel, the leader of the Métis people of the Canadian Prairies, sought to preserve Métis rights and culture during a turbulent time in Canadian history.

Zacharias Kunuk directed this documentary of the High Arctic Relocation in 1953 where the government relocated communities with promises of resources to improve land claims on a international stage.

This resource explores the history of the relationships between Indigenous peoples and French settlers in North America prior to 1763.

This virtual exhibition looks at some facets of the history of Canada's Aboriginal peoples, underlining their fight for cultural survival and sharing many of their modern-day contributions.

This web page reviews the Blackfoot indigenous knowledge and philosophy.

This web page reviews the Cree indigenous knowledge and philosophy.

Historical and contemporary objects, images, and documents vividly express the cultural diversity as well as the creativity, resourcefulness, and endurance of this country's First Nations, Métis, and Inuit peoples.

The official site for Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump has information about Blackfoot History, how the site got its name, and school tours.

In this short video, an RCMP officer watches an Inuit family build the Northern landmark (an inukshuk), a sign of human activity on the vast arctic landscape (1931).

Mohawk Chief John Norton and 80 Grand River warriors hold off American soldiers until reinforcements arrive.

A site that examines pre-contact Indigenous life in the landmass that would become Canada.

This 406-page digitized document reviews the importance of the horse in Blackfoot culture. It examines the social status, political organization, religion, and economic relations of the Blackfoot culture.

A rich resource of more than 200 videos gathered by the NCCI that pertain to more than twenty First Nations, Métis, and Inuit ways of knowing and being from across Canada.

Mary Laronde, knowledge keeper from Temagami First Nation, talks about Governance.

This site documents the history of Métis people in Western Canada generally and specifically in Alberta.

This website, filled with videos, was created to share "Innu reality, heritage and living culture" a nation in which "elders pass on their skills and knowledge to younger generations." The site is divided into four sections: First steps, Innu Daily Life, Innu World and Glossary.

Explore this collection of information and images about Nunavik. Learn about the people, plants, animals and resources and how they have adapted in this environment.

An article from the archived Alberta Online Encyclopedia.

A selection from the exhibit of 36 photographs taken by Norman Hallendy showing extraordinary places and objects (including inuksuit) in the Canadian Arctic revealed to him by Inuit elders. The images celebrate unganaqtuq nuna, the Inuit expression meaning "a deep and total attachment to the land."

An introductory essay on the role of salmon in Pacific Northwest First Nations groups. It includes several traditional stories on salmon

This article tells the story of Sitting Bull's decision to lead his people out of the United States.

This resource from the Alberta Teachers' Association's Stepping Stones Series provides an introduction to the history and significance of Métis settlements and agreements.

In Canada close to 30,000 official place names are, or may be, of Indigenous origin. Learn about a small sample of those names here!

This feature-length documentary traces the journey of the Haisla people to reclaim the G'psgolox totem pole that went missing from their British Columbia village in 1929.

This collection of films from the National Film Board provide a portrait of the Inuit experience, past and present, in animated shorts and documentaries.

Thousands of Indigenous Canadians fought in WWI, WWII and the Korean War. Read the stories and accomplishments of some who fought in these wars and how the veterans are being honoured.

A conversation with Qauyisaq “Kowesa” Etitiq is a learning resource designed to introduce educators about the Inuit way of life, history, culture and stories. This resource was produced by the. Elementary Teachers’ Federation of Ontario

An 8 minute documentary about the life if actor Tantoo Cardinal, likely the most recognizable Indigenous actress in North America, by director Nicole Dolloso.

A website by and about artist, Alex Janvier, one of the founding members of Professional Native Indian Artists Inc. Images of some of his works can be seen here.

This short film tells the story of how actor, singer, producer, and activist Tom Jackson came to use his gift of song to contribute millions of dollars to the fight against poverty and homelessness.

An article that documents the beginnings of the "Idle No More" Movement in Canada.

This brief biographical article provides information about prolific west coast artist, Bill Reid

In this short documentary, Buffy St. Marie candidly discusses her hopes, creative vision and songwriting skills, as well as her role as an Aboriginal activist.

An article that examines the life of Mistahimaskwa, a Plains Cree chief who refused to since Treaty 6, tried to unite the Cree people, and led his band through many conflicts.

Although he could not vote himself, the people of Haldimand County overwhelmingly voted to elect Mohawk Chief John Brant, as their first representative to the Parliament of Upper Canada in 1830.

This Historica Heritage Minute, created in 2016, tells the story of Inuk artist Kenojuak Ashevak. It tells how she started creating her art which now hangs in galleries around the world.

This Heritage Minute tells the Iroquois story of Peacemaker. There is also a text version of the story.

Learn about Indigenous athletes in Canada that had a significant impact in sports.

In this 2:44 minute video, Blaire Russell shares his art and the influence that his culture and home have on his work. He is an artist and photographer, from the Blood Tribe, Kainai First Nation in Southern Alberta.

Learn about Josephine Mandamin, the water defender, who began walking around the Great Lakes to raise awareness about water pollution.

Mitiarjuk Nappaaluk was an Inuit author, teacher, and historian best known for writing the first novel in Inuktitut.

Olive Patricia Dickason changed the way that Canadians think about their history and Indigenous history in Canada

This video by Heritage Canada documents the life of Olivia Poole, an Indigenous Canadian woman, who invented the Jolly Jumper.

An article by the Canadian Encyclopedia about Robbie Robertson, an Indigenous Canadian musician who profoundly influenced the American music scene.

A biography of Susan Aglukark, an Inuit singer/songwriter, who blends traditional and modern traditions in her music.

Thanadelthur, the “Ambassadress of Peace,” was instrumental in negotiating peace between the Chipewyan and Cree people.

Mary Two-Axe Earley was a pioneer and architect of the Canadian women’s movement. Her political activism forged coalition of allies to challenge Canadian laws that discriminated against Indigenous women.

This short documentary serves as a portrait of Lawrence Paul Yuxweluptun, one of Canada's most important painters.