Career and Technology Foundations Grades 5-9

Computers see the world in BINARY - a system of numbers made up only of ones and twos. Why do they do this? Let's find out!

In this lesson, students will learn how to design simple icons on graph paper and in computer tables.

Code Hero is a game-making game that teaches you how to make games that teach.

An online editor allows coders to see a preview of their code with real-time changes. Build and deploy a website, show off your work, and build test cases to learn and debug.

For successful computer programming or coding, you need to learn to think like a computer. It’s much trickier than you’d imagine!

Let's look inside a computer and learn what the parts are called. Then we'll talk about some of the differences between laptops and desktops.

Draw.io is a great tool for creating flowcharts to illustrate program flow or ideas. It's simple to use - click on Help to get an introduction video and tips.

Kodu lets kids create games on the PC and Xbox via a simple visual programming language. Kodu can be used to teach creativity, problem-solving, storytelling, as well as programming.

This site, created by Google, is intended to encourage teen girls to get involved with coding and computer science. There are many activities and resources to explore.

This MIT site has several resources for teachers wanting to introduce students to app building. There are simple step guides to getting started as well as tutorials and educational resources.

A collection of videos that explore the impact of technology on societies. Teacher resources accompany each video

In this game, you will assemble a map leading to a pirate treasure. You will also learn how to decide what information is ok to give out when you are playing online, and what information you need to keep private.

Scratch is a programming language that makes it easy to create your own interactive stories, animations, games, music, and art -- and share your creations on the web. (site)

A computer has several types of memory in it. Why does it need more than one? Let's find out! Related Lesson

The modern hard drive can hold more information than your local library. How does it store so much information in such a small space? Related Lesson

The most basic unit of information in a computer is in binary code. Learn about this hidden language of computers. Related Lesson

Watch this video and learn about the components of a computer and how they work together Related Lesson

Hardware is the physical part of a computer. So what's software? Let's find out!

The open-source online editor will help kids wade into the world of animation, game creation, and coding without an expensive software investment.

This 3-minute video describes digital footprints and why they are valuable to third party services. Learn about the risks and value of digital footprints as well as some best practices for protecting your online identity.

This animated music video raps about the hazards of oversharing online and emphasizes a thoughtful approach to digital footprints. Try the video discussion guide to spark a conversation about communicating and connecting in the digital world.

Let's look inside a computer and learn what the parts are called. Then we'll talk about some of the differences between laptops and desktops.

Follow along to improve your typing skills. These activities provide an introduction to keyboarding.

A hilarious videe about the strategies one needs to find and evaluate sources when researching.

A fun typing game where the speed of your race car depends on your speed and accuracy of your typing.

A collection of videos that explore the impact of technology on societies. Teacher resources accompany each video

This video explains why keeping personal information private is so important (especially in an online environment), and offers tips for young people.

This free-form graphic organizer provides a quick way for students to trace out options and rearrange connections to ideas. A great brainstorming tool!

Pictures are forever. This video offers some advice about sexting and explains how digitally shared photos can live forever.

This graphic novel follows a couple of teenagers as they start at a new school. They quickly learn more about how social media works and how to think critically about their online activities.

The World Wide Web is used every day by millions of people for everything from checking the weather to sharing cat videos. But what is it exactly?

Hardware is the physical part of a computer. So what's software? Let's find out!

This guide provides students with some teen-tested tips for staying on top of their digital life. Topics include balancing screen time, managing online reputations and finding reliable information.

Create designs for social media, posters, graphs, presentations, or flyers. Choose from the many layouts, stock photographs and illustrations.

An insurance company made this video about the hidden costs of consumer products.

MediaSmarts has an overview of online marketing, specific to children. The overview includes relationship building, viral ads, and behavioural targeting.

This lesson for Grades 4-6 introduces students to the online marketing techniques used by marketers to target children on the Internet. The lesson includes discussion points, student activities and an analysis of case studies about online marketing.

Create beautiful photos, logos, social media graphics, and facebook covers with PicMonkey's easy yet powerful photo editing and graphic design software. Free trial access.

The Polona Typo project makes it possible to type, share and print your own sentences using thousands of letters from historic books, posters and maps created over more than six centuries.

This is an online painting and image editing tool.

This video explains the math behind interest rates, revealing the equation that will allow you to calculate the future value of your saved money. Related Lesson

Teacher Troy gives viewers tips on money, specifically change and one dollar.

Supply and demand is part of the very bedrock of an economy. It's what generates the price of any product or service.

WordArt.com is an online word cloud art creator that enables you to create amazing and unique word cloud art with ease.

Word Clouds For Kids makes it very easy for students to print or save their results. The results can be edited for color, font, layout, etc.

Word Clouds For Kids makes it very easy for students to print or save their results. The results can be edited for color, font, layout, etc.

A good set of videos that will help students explore careers in business.

A good set of videos to support students learning about careers in the finance industry.

A series of videos aimed at showcasing careers in marketing and public relations.

This is a two-page tip sheet created to help youth manage their online identity.

This 3-minute video describes digital footprints and why they are valuable to third party services. Learn about the risks and value of digital footprints as well as some best practices for protecting your online identity.

How aware are you of your digital dossier? Watch this time line of Andy's lifespan and find out when your digital dossier starts and how it grows

This activity combines a matching game with tips about protecting privacy. In Round 1, players earn moves and improve their score by answering questions about themselves. In Round 2, players can protect their privacy scores by completing quizzes about various privacy tools.

This Canadian website exists to help teens to remove inappropriate pictures of themselves that are being shared on the Internet.

A collection of videos that explore the impact of technology on societies. Teacher resources accompany each video

Setting your page to private is smart and a step in the right direction -- but who's on your friends list? Don't give just anyone access to your world.

Information from the federal government about simple actions everyone can take to make their digital information more secure.

A hidden network of fiber cables links our planet and makes the internet possible. What is fiber optics, how does it work, and how is it evolving? Related Lesson

The most basic unit of information in a computer is in binary code. Learn about this hidden language of computers. Related Lesson

The World Wide Web is used every day by millions of people for everything from checking the weather to sharing cat videos. But what is it exactly?

Surprisingly funny videos from the Government of Canada about actions everyone can take to make their digital information more secure.

This guide provides students with some teen-tested tips for staying on top of their digital life. Topics include balancing screen time, managing online reputations and finding reliable information.

Once you've sent a message online, it's out of your hands. Others can do whatever they want with your message. You can never truly take it back.