Skip to Main Content

Games and Gamification

This guide for teachers has materials related to educational games and gamification. Featured books and games can be borrowed from your ATA Library

Classroom Game Kits Available Through Your ATA Library

All games listed below can be borrowed from your ATA Library.  Click the bold link to find the item in our library catalogue and request it.  

Agriculture Games Box (Grades 5+) 
Kit includes: Agricola, The Farming Game, My Farm Shop, Stardew Valley

Game box for Agricola, game board, cards, and game pieces      Game box for the Farming Game, game board, cards, and game pieces   Game box for the farm shop. A young woman stand in front of a vegetable standBlue game box for Stardew Valley with a farm on it.  

Agriculture Games Box (Grades 10-12)  New

Kit includes Alpujarras, Fromage and Three Sisters

Game box for Aplujarras on which a woman is harvesting grapesGame box for Fromage with a landscape on it made of cheese          Game box for the Thee SIsters with three orange squash on the front


Biology Games Box (Grades 7-12)   
Kit includes: Cytosis, Cellulose, Evolution Another World, Genotype, and Keystone North America

Game box for Cellulose with a close up look at a plant cell. The parts of the cell are clearly visibleA game box for Cystosis with a close up of the internal structures of a cells.Game box for Evolution with a gecko that appears to glow on the frontGame box for Genotype with a notebooks and peas on the frontGames box for Keystone with 4 keystone species on it: bees, otter, polar bear, and a grizzly bear

Canadian History Games Box (Grades 3-8)   
Contains: Explore Canada, Professor Noggin History of Canada, Hide & Seek, Canadian Trivia Family Edition

Canadian Trivia red game box with 6 pictures of Canadian landscapes.Red game box for Hide and Seek with a Canadian cityscape and a large maple leaf on the cover.Red game box for History of Canada. Professor Noggin' is waving a Canadian flag on the frontWhite "Explore Canada" Box with 7 circles that each have an image of Canada in them


Chemistry Games Box (Grades 7-12)   

Kit includes:  Chemistry Fluxx, Compounded, Lab Notes, Periodic, Subatomic
Game box for Chemistry Fluxx. Lab equipment and chemical symbols are on the boxA plain orange box with the word Compounded in Arial font on it. Game box for Lab Notes with dice and cards on the frontGame box for Periodic. Brightly colour squares are arranged as part of the periodic tableGame box for subatomic. A close-up image of a molecule that seems to be spinning


Communication & Cooperation Games Box (Grades 4-6)   
Kit includes: Codenames Harry Potter; Hocus Pocus; Paint the Roses; and Race to the Raft


Games box for Codenames Harry Potter. Wizards appear in silhoutte on the boxGame box for Hocus Pocus with the characters on the box. In the foreground is the game board with playing pieces scattered around it.Game box for Paint the Roses. A purple cat hides in a rose bush.Game box for Race to the Raft. A cat sits on a piece of land surrounded by water


Energy Games Box (Grades 6+)  New
Includes Catan New Energies; Future Energy; Power Grid Factory Manager; Power Grid Recharged Edition

Game ox for Catan. A blue city is backlit be the rising sunGame box for Future Energy. A landscape near water is on the box. Solar panels are on the land and wind mills are on the water        Game box for Factory Manager. A man dressed in 1940s business suit stands looking down at a factory floor where people are working        Game box for Power Grid. A man in a white lab coat holds a clipboard in his right hand and adjusts a knob on a machine with his left hand


Introduction to Chess Box (K-3)  New   
Includes: Storytime Chess, Storytime Chess Level 2, and Storytime Chess Level 3

Game box for story time chess. Cartoon characters of the chess pieces are on the front of the box      Game box for Story Time Chess Level 2. A woman with a trident stands facing a dragon      Game box for Story Time Chess 3. Small cartoon characters are scattered across the box

Math Skills Games Box (Grades 3-5)  
Kit Includes: Adsumudi, Double Digits, Math Fluxx, Mobi, Proof!, and Tri-Facta Multiplication and Division
Colourful game box for Adsumudi with a monster and several mathematical symbols on the boxGame box for Double Digits. A card with numbers and several dots and mathematical symbols are on the boxWhiteA cloth whale pouch is labelled Mobi. Next to the pouch are white and blue tiles of numbers and operations  Blue game box for Proof! A wizard is on the box  A triangular box for Tri Facta sits behind the game board that is set up for play with lots of pieces scattered around


Math Skills Games Box (Grades 5-8) 
Kit includes: Adsumudi, Mathopoly, Proof!, Prime Climb, Qwixx, and Yahtzee

Brightly coloured game box for Adsumudi with a monster and mathematical operations on the frontRed game box for Mathopoly is behind a set up game board  Black game box for Prime ClimbBlue game box for Proof! A wizard is on the front Orange game box for Qwixx with a score card and several dice in the foregroundRed game box for Yahtzee is behind a score card and several dice

 

Physics Games Box (Grades 7 - 12)    
Includes: Cat in the Box, Hamsterrolle, and Quirky Quarks 
Game box for Cat in the box. A black cartoon cat with enormous white eyes seems to be coming out of the box  A blue game box for Hamsterrolle with a bright yellow ring on the front  A black game box for Quirky Quarks with coloured bubbles floating on it with little lights in the bubbles


Reading & Spelling Games Box (Grades K-3)  
Kit includes: Bananagrams, Pop for Blends, Pop for Sight Words, Pop for Sight Words 2, Sight Words Game, and Word for Word.
A yellow clothe pouch that looks like a banana has letter tiles spilling out of it -- this houses the Bananagrams boxA green popcorn box for Pop for Blends. Game pieces look like popcorn.A orange popcorn box for Pop for Sight Words and a red popcorn box for Pop for Sight Words 2. Game pieces look like popcorn.Sight word tiles that look like flys with four fly swatters near by. All very brightly coloured.Open game box for Word for Word game. Plastic pieces are scattered around, a score pad and sand timer are on the foreground


Social Studies Games Box (Grades 7-12)     
Includes: Catan, Catan Dice Game, Catan Starfarers, High Treason, Horizons of Spirit Island, and Spirit Island

Red game box for Catan with a setting sun on the cover. A game board, tiles, and cards are arranged near the boxGame box for Catan the Dice Game. Six dice are on the coverBack of a black box for Catan Starfarers.   High Treason game box. Louis Riel appears on the front with a noose extending from behind his head to around is shoulder.s   Game box for Horizons of Spirit Island. A dragon made of magma raises its head from behind a lush island  Game box for Spirit Island with rock like faces of spirits arising out of the island


Social Studies Games Box (Grade 8)  
Includes: Floating World, Imperial Settlers: Empires of the North, Samurai Battles, and Struggle for Catan

Game box for Floating World. A tsunami wave rises up on the box  Game box for Imperial Settlers: Empires of the North. On an icefloe on the front cover is a Inuit person, as well as a Viking and a CeltGame box for Samurai Battles with a samurai on the box. Game box for Spirit Island with rock like faces of spirits arising out of the islandOrange game box with a sun set on it for the card version of Struggle for Catan

Social Studies Games Box (Grades 10 - 12) 

Includes: Colonialism, Exoworld Survival, and Hegemony: Lead Your Class to Victory
A black Colonialism game box with a ankle lock connected by a chain to a metal ball Game box for Exoworld Survival -- a bleak smoking landscape on the box has no signs of lifeA black game box for Hegemony has a photo of the front of a crowd of people in front of a ornate building


Spelling Games Box (Grades 4-9)  
Includes: Dabble, Double Bananagrams, A Little Wordy, Snippets, and Upwords

A game box that isn't square houses the Dabble game. Tiles and a sand time are in front of the boxA yellow clothe pouch that looks like a banana has letter tiles spilling out of it -- this houses the Bananagrams boxVery plain game box with just little birds on it, one black and one redTeal Snippets game box with a cartoon crab holding a paper and a pencil in it's clawsA teal game box for Upwords. On the cover of the box is ia tray with white tile letters in it.


Strategic & Critical Thinking Skills Games Box (Grades 3-6) 
Kit includes: Battleship, Blokus, Connect 4, Ctrl, Kanoodle Head to Head, Taco vs Burrito, and UNO
 

Battleship game board set up and playingBlokus game board with brightly coloured pieces being playedConnect 4 game in progress on a vertical gridBlack and pastel game box with the word CTRL in large font Kanoodle game box with a Game board set up in front of it.Black game box for Taco vs Burrito. A cartoon taco with boxing gloves confronts a cartoon burrito with boxing glovesUNO game box with cards scattered around it


Strategic Thinking Games Box (Grades 5-7)   
Includes Castle Rampage, Jenga, Minecraft Builders & Biomes, Minecraft Portal Dash, and Project L
Game box for Castle Rampage. Viking-like characters run chaotically through a castle backgroundA tower of tightly packed wood blocks stands in frond of an orange Jenga game boxGreen box for the Minecraft Builders and Biomes game. Two minecraft figures and a dog look out to a darkened landscapeMinecraft Portal Dash Box with mindcraft characters running around chaoticallyBrightly coloured plastic cubes, white score cards, a black board game, a black instruction booklet, and a black game box with a blue L

 


Strategic Thinking Games Box (Grades 7-12) 
Includes: 7 Wonders, Chess, Mancala, Qwirkle, and Ticket to Ride 

Game box for 7 Wonders. A heroic figure holds an eternal flame high above his head. Behind him is a landscape of pyramids and other ancient buildings A chess game is set up for people to start playing   Mancala game is set up to play. Game pieces are in the wooden boardGame box for Qwirkle with game pieces on the boxGame box for Ticket to Ride. A train and several people are on the game box

Home | Contact Us

© 2020 The Alberta Teachers’ Association

Report a broken link