Skip to Main Content
Your ATA Library
Enter Search Words
This guide contains resources for teachers focused on English Language Arts and literacy
Book Awards and Reviews
Digital Escape Rooms
Digital Storytelling Tools
Free During the Pandemic
Free Online Books
Open Access Journals
Sites for Students
Find standard dictionary functions plus word of the day, emojis, and slang. There is also a link to an online thesaurus.
Dictionary of Slang
A monster online dictionary of the rich colourful language we call slang... all from a British perspective,
A great site for explaining all the weird little idioms that we use as English language speakers
Choose one of the topics and click on a topic keyword to find a gold mine of related words
Longman Dictionary of Contemporary English
LDOCE Online offers you free access to a range of Longman monolingual and bilingual dictionaries that are specifically designed for learners and teachers of English. The bilingual dictionaries are: Japanese-English, Korean-English, Spanish-English
This is the site of the Merriam-Webster Dictionary, with added online features.
Try out this online dictionary. It will also find related words.
Online Etymology Dictionary
This is a map of the wheel-ruts of modern English. Etymologies are not definitions; they're explanations of what our words meant and how they sounded 600 or 2,000 years ago.
This is a dictionary that explores the meanings and origins of new words.
Visual Dictionaries >>
Nov 17, 2023 2:54 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem
English Language Arts
© 2020 The Alberta Teachers’ Association
Report a broken link