This guide contains resources and tools to support teachers as they address digital life skills such as copyright, digital presence, media literacy, social media and online safety.
Be Internet Awesome provides resources to teach kids the fundamentals of digital citizenship and safety so they can explore the online world with confidence.
This collection of lesson plans that teach students to spot fake news includes: Breaking News Bellringer, Viral Video News Story and To Share or Not To Share. The lessons include American examples but you could adapt this with Canadian news stories.
This 4-part non-credit online course was designed by Norquest College to introduce students to concepts of misinformation and help them practice valuable critical thinking skills. This course is an Open Education Resource with lessons and presentations that can be freely adapted for your classroom.
There are a selection of excellent teaching resources here, connected to curriculum and covering one or more of seven key digital issues; each lesson has icons to indicate which digital literacy themes it covers.
Check out this selection of teaching resources drawing on seven key aspects of digital literacy and connected to curriculum; each lesson has one or more icons to indicate which digital literacy themes it covers.
There are a selection of excellent teaching resources drawing on seven key aspects of digital literacy; each lesson has one or more icons to indicate which digital literacy themes it covers.
This is a collection of engaging "missions" during which students read a story on a social network feed; the story might be entirely true, entirely false, or somewhere in between.
This lesson plan, for grades 5-8, gives students a chance to "explore the many tools and strategies that can be used to mitigate or prevent negative online experiences". Teachers will find all handouts as well as a board game.
