New Social Studies 3: Culture

Learn lots of facts about Alberta in this children's encyclopedia article.

Journey with us and discover that ingenuity has always been and will continue to be a vital part of every sector of industry in Alberta.

Learn the facts about Alberta from this encyclopedia article.

Scroll through the timeline; explore key developments in Alberta's history, from 1754 - 2017.

In this enlightening conversation, two individuals delve into the linguistic diversity of Alberta, a province nestled in the heart of Canada.

Emblems are objects that symbolize another object or an idea. There are many official emblems of Alberta. Discover them on this site from the Alberta Government.

A site whose goal is to celebrate women's successes, and inspire them to become nation builders in the legacy of the Famous 5.

This famous group of female basketball players were the most successful team in Canadian sports history. This is an updated version of a classic Heritage Minute.

Both Indigenous people and the first European settlers in Alberta faced a common challenge: bitterly cold winters. How did they get through them?

This digital image collection includes photographs picturing elements of physical geography, climate, geology and paleontology that are integral to the landscapes and environment of Alberta.

This site explores the history of Indigenous peoples on the land that became Alberta. This site was created by the Alberta Heritage Community Foundation

Often referred to as the Father of Manitoba, Louis Riel, the leader of the Métis people of the Canadian Prairies, sought to preserve Métis rights and culture during a turbulent time in Canadian history.

Two videos that introduce Métis jigging to students.

In this video, you'll learn how the Métis made Red River Carts entirely out of wood!

This site documents the history of Métis people in Western Canada generally and specifically in Alberta.

Do you enjoy dancing? Have you tried the Red River Jig? Learn more about the Red River Jig, and how to dance from Brigid an Interpreter from Métis Crossing accompanied by Fiddler Brianna!

A video that discusses the Métis sash which is worn by Métis people. What is it used for? Why do they wear it?

On this site you can access two seasons of videos featuring Leah Dorian reading her own books that express the Métis culture.

This video explains who the Métis people are. It was produced by the Métis Nation of Alberta and Rupertsland Institute.

Created by the Alberta Heritage Community Foundation, this site will give students an overview of early settler history of our province.

Learn about the early migration of Chinese settlers into Alberta and what life was like for them here.

On this site, you'll find a small collection of personal photos that document the lives of Black Canadians in Alberta

An article that summarizes Ukrainian immigration to Alberta.

Examine hundreds of artifacts, historic photographs, documents and maps from the Glenbow Museum that help tell Alberta's story.

A film about the Ukrainian Pioneer immigrants of central Canada during early days of the western provinces.

This short documentary about Amber Valley, one of the first all-Black settlements in Canada. Arriving in 1909, the pioneers of this community battled the elements and racism

Celebrate the year of the Monkey by learning about Calgary's fascinating and ever-changing Chinatown

The Al Rashid Mosque is the first Mosque in Canada, and it exists only because of the perseverance of some very strong women.

Learn about Internally Displaced Persons and what it really means to be a refugee. Related Lesson

Isaac Murdoch of the Anishinabek Nation talks about promises.

There are 46 First Nations in Alberta. First Nation is one of three groupings of Indigenous people in Canada, the other two being Métis and Inuit.

A 2.5 minute animated video from CBC Kids News that explains what the word Indigenous means and how we use it.

Explore the audio stories recorded by children as you learn about the wildlife and culture or the Kainai people.

Information about the Indigenous Peoples who live in Alberta.

An experiential learning site that integrates Indigenous stories and ceremonies based in two land sites.

This website shares the culture and history of the Blackfoot-speaking people as they know and understand it. Learn how they lived with the land, the buffalo, and their families.

An article from the archived Alberta Online Encyclopedia.

A video about the traditional harvesting of sweetgrass that was produced by the Winnipeg Regional Health Authority.

This web series follows a young Indigenous boy on a rite of passage—a vision quest—where he learns about the Seven Sacred Laws. Available in English, French, and Anishinaabemowin.

This interactive explores the role of the buffalo in the lives of the American Indians. How do the stories from a buffalo hide painting and activity about First Nations use of the buffalo relate to our Alberta history?

This is a news story about the raising of the Blackfoot Confederacy Flag in Lethbridge. Learn why is important to raise that flag.

There are 46 First Nations in Alberta. First Nation is one of three groupings of Indigenous people in Canada, the other two being Métis and Inuit.

You can click on the name of an Alberta tribe to see their flag or scroll down to click on Alberta to find find all the flags of First Nations in Alberta that have been found by this site.

History shows that the Métis Flag was first introduced in the early 1800s, in
and around 1815 to 1816 -- which makes it much older than the Canadian flag

Broadcaster, and playwright France Levasseur-Ouimet unlocks the door to Alberta's rich Francophone heritage.

The city of Beaumont began as a French Colony in 1895 and has become the only officially bilingual city in Alberta

Calgary's Francophone community recently gathered to celebrate French Canadian culture

Falher was settled by French and American settlers in 1912. Learn more about the town in this short article

Virginie Dallaire est allée sonder quelques participants (dont le maire d'Edmonton, Don Iveson) du festival Deep Freeze d'Edmonton.

The Flying Canoë Volant is a cultural, creative and interactive event in Edmonton designed to celebrate local Indigenous and Francophone history and the magic of a long winter night.

Saint Paul, Alberta first existed as a Métis colony. French colonists were invited to the area and eventually pushed the Métis out of the community and it became a French town.

On this site, you can learn all about the town of Legal that has become famous as the National Capital of French Murals.

Gary the Unicorn continues to learn about racism with help from his friends, kids who experience racism in their everyday lives.

Gary the Unicorn's friends, Tony and Janaye, teach him the basics of what racism is, how it happened, and how to stop it.

This film shows kids that being racist is not cool and that even subtle racism can explode into violence.

Elmo meets Wes and his dad Elijah on a nature walk, where they teach Elmo about how melanin makes us all look different.

This short film portrays the experiences of Rhonda Gordon and her daughter, Angela, when a simple bus ride changes their lives in an unforeseeable way.

This cute video featuring animated caterpillar and snail characters is a great simple explaination of the concept of privilege.

A close look at what systemic racism is and how we can solve it.

Lessons and projects for teaching students about the culture of Alberta. Click on the pictures rather than the links to avoid the login request.

In The Amazing Race, students explore agriculture and its strong connection to, and dependence on, the land, natural resources and population centres of geographic regions across Canada and Alberta.

An elementary lesson plan that incorporates Indigenous perspectives

Designed to support educators in Primary classrooms (K-3) in “building student capacity for intercultural understanding, empathy and mutual respect,” as stated in Call to Action 63 from the Truth and Reconciliation Commission.

This introduction to the Seven Sacred Teachings features nine mini lessons for Grades 1-2 and Grades 3-6 to complete over a two-week period. Each lesson includes discussion questions and a short activity.

Place names carry stories, history, culture and values. Learn about the history of some of central Alberta's place. You can see the work of students as they explore how places and people got their names.

A documentary series provides a history and overview of Muslims in Canada. The project includes a 3-part documentary television series with a 100-page Educator's Guide.

A sequence of lesson plans to have students clearly understand the differences between racism, discrimination, and bullying, prior to teaching specifically about racism and black history in Canada.

A lesson plan for K-4 students that uses Bannock as the medium for exploring Métis ideas of identity and community

A lesson plan for grades 4-9 students from the Rupertsland Institute that explores the role of scrip Métis-Settler relationships.

Lessons and projects developed to teach students about the history of Alberta. Click the pictures rather than the links to avoid the sign-in prompt.

Students learn about the importance of learning by listening to stories told by Elders. Free sign-in is required for access.

Learn how Kleinrock teaches kids to discuss taboo topics without fear -- because the best way to start solving social problems is to talk about them.

The Alberta Native Friendship Centres Association and the Be Fit For Life Network collaborated on this
project to share traditional games with our partners in Alberta.

A web site for students, teachers, and others interested in the causes and consequences of prejudice.