Skip to Main Content
Common Sense Media: Teachers' Essential Guide to Cyberbullying Prevention
This Educator toolkit is divided into elementary, middle school and high school. You can access videos and lesson plans, as well as resources for administrators.
Common Sense Media: Digital Citizenship
This is an excellent collection of lesson plans, videos and other resources about digital citizenship, all created for teachers.
Common Sense Media: Tips and Resources to Prevent Cyberbullying
This resource from Common Sense Media provides four key strategies to address and prevent cyberbullying in and out of your classroom. Each strategy has related resources embedded as links.
Impact: How to Make a Difference When You Witness Bullying Online
This program (grade 7-9) provides advice for youth and educators in cyberbullying situations. The resources include an online tool that helps students choose effective strategies for cyberbullying situations, corresponding lessons, and a series of printable posters for the classroom.
MediaSmarts: Be Respectful, Patient and Kind
This tip sheet was created from the responses of youth. They were asked for tips on how to make the online world better for everyone.
MediaSmarts: Digital Literacy Framework Grades 4-6
There are a selection of excellent teaching resources here, connected to curriculum and covering one or more of seven key digital issues; each lesson has icons to indicate which digital literacy themes it covers.
MediaSmarts: Digital Literacy Framework Grades 7-9
Check out this selection of teaching resources drawing on seven key aspects of digital literacy and connected to curriculum; each lesson has one or more icons to indicate which digital literacy themes it covers.
MediaSmarts: Digital Literacy Framework Grades 9-12
There are a selection of excellent teaching resources drawing on seven key aspects of digital literacy; each lesson has one or more icons to indicate which digital literacy themes it covers.
MediaSmarts: Digital Literacy Framework Grades K-3
Choose from this selection of teaching resources to introduce digital literacy topics to your students. The lessons cover seven key aspects of digital literacy and provide teachers with lessons that are linked to curriculum outcomes.
MediaSmarts: First Do No Harm: How to be an active witness
This tip sheet offers great advice for those who are witnesses to bullying. "When you see or hear bad things happening online, you have a lot of power to make things better – or worse."
MediaSmarts: Online Ethics
This collection of resources explores how ethical concepts (ethical development, empathy and laws, rules and personal morality) affect the ways that young people behave online as well as the opportunities they represent for developing digital literacy skills.
MediaSmarts: Ten Tiny Ways You Can Make the World a Better Place
This great tip sheet about kindness was created by MediaSmarts and Shaw Communications, with contributions from Canadian youth.
MediaSmarts: Understanding Cyberbullying: Virtual vs. Physical Worlds
This lesson plan, for grades 7 and 8, helps to explore how online communication and cyberbullying can influence or contribute to bullying in the physical world. The lesson provides detailed information for class activities.
MediaSmarts: What to do if someone is mean to you
This is a great tip sheet for parents and teachers to keep handy because it includes links for how to take a screenshot and report cyberbullying.
Home | Contact Us
© 2020 The Alberta Teachers’ Association
Report a broken link