Skip to Main Content
Alberta Biodiversity Monitoring Institute
Alberta Biodiversity Monitoring Institute tracks changes in Alberta's wildlife and their habitats from border to border, and provides ongoing, relevant, scientifically credible information on Alberta's living resources.
A site with amazing photos that includes information for learning about how animals survive on a changing planet and about possible solutions to threatened ecosystems
Canadian Encyclopedia: Biodiversity
This Canadian Encyclopedia article explores Canada's biodiversity, including its benefits, threats, and initiatives to preserve this biodiversity. There are several images included in this article.
Conservation of Biodiversity
Life has existed on Earth for over 3.5 billion years. Over 95% of the species that ever existed have gone extinct. So why should we be concerned about current extinction rates and conserving biodiversity? Find out here!
A free online identification tool, Discover Life also boasts a global species map, over 1 000 000 unique species pages and a daily moth identification test to keep your ID skills sharp.
Encyclopedia of Life
EOL is a collection of open-access data on biodiversity around the world. The goal of the EOL is to bring all the data scattered around on different websites together into one easy-access website. It covers both multi-celled organisms like plants, animals and fungi as well as single celled organisms like archaea and protists.
Hinterland Who's Who: Biodiversity
This site provides an excellent definition of biodiversity and links to a data bank of fact sheets and information about Canada's birds and mammals.
Learning to Protect Biodiversity
This video from the UN explains why it important to protect Earth's biodiversity. The video also provides some examples of how communities can make a difference.
Project Passenger Pigeon
This site explores the extinction of the passenger pigeon in North America -- a species that numbered 5 billion in 1880, and whose last member died in 1914.
TED: Why is biodiversity so important?
Our planet’s diverse ecosystems and wildlife populations are vulnerable. Jungles can become deserts, and reefs can become lifeless rocks. What makes one ecosystem strong and another weak in the face of change? This video explains why biodiversity is the key.
UN: Decade on Biodiversity
This site from the Convention for Biological Diversity is an indepth look at the importance of biodiversity, what is being lost as biodiversity loses ground against human activities and what action can be taken to preserve the biodiversity of Earth's many different ecosystems.
What is Biodiversity?
In this video, a scientist explains true diversity in nature and why biodiversity is so important in the natural world.
Home | Contact Us
© 2020 The Alberta Teachers’ Association
Report a broken link