Visual Arts & Theatre

30 must-see paintings from the National Gallery of Art (UK)

A great collection of art from modern British artists that is truly inspiring

The best of Asian art at the tip of your fingers for use in the classroom or at home.

This historic collection features a large range of artwork and ancient texts from around the world in high resolution images. Included with the images are brief summaries that add context to the items.

Digital Art Museum is an online resource for the history and practice of digital fine art.

In this collection there are 35 highlights to see, 27 exhibitions to discover, 15 galleries to visit, 14 collection trails to follow, 19 publications to explore, and over 10500 objects to browse

A visual introduction to the works of art movements from the 1500s to the present.

An exploration of the use of different artistic mediums through time.

The online collections of objects that are on display at the Harvard Art Museums

This archive contains nearly 300,000 original slides and photographs – photographic documentation of art and architecture throughout Asia. Countries covered in the collection include India, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Thailand, Indonesia, Myanmar (Burma), China, and Japan.

Lesson plans, activities, and class guides for arts teachers

The collection displays high quality images of traditional Japanese artwork. These include Buddhist Paintings, Illustrated Handscrolls and Calligraphy. Included with the images is a brief summary of the history the work and what the image depicts.

Against the backdrop of contemporary global challenges and conflicts, MWNF projects demonstrate the far-reaching potential of cultural heritage in building intercultural bridges in the name of peace.

The searchable collection of the National Gallery of Canada

VADS (the Visual Arts Data Service) has provided services to the academic community for 20 years and has built up a considerable portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 140,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research.