This still-growing digital archive contains more than 25 million pages representing over 200,000 publication titles, the majority of which were published prior to 1921. An excellent source of primary sources for social studies students.
This historical dictionary shows changes in the meanings of words over time, using dated quotations to illustrate these shifts. The DCHP-2 includes words that have become outdated or obsolete and lists for the sake of historical completeness words and meanings that are considered offensive or derogatory today.
A unique presentation of primary and secondary resources found in the collections of Canada's National History Society, HBCA - Archives of Manitoba, The Manitoba Museum, Parks Canada and several First Nations communities.
As the custodian of our distant past and recent history, Library and Archives Canada (LAC) is a key resource for all Canadians who wish to gain a better understanding of who they are, individually and collectively.
The Provincial Archives of Alberta preserves and makes available private and government records of all media related to the province, and serves as the permanent archival repository of the Government of Alberta.
The Reading Like a Historian curriculum engages students in historical inquiry. Each lesson revolves around a central historical question and features a set of primary documents designed for groups of students with a range of reading skills.
Read some wartime stories from mothers, grandmothers, and friends; these are diaries of their experiences during the Second World War both at home and in wartime service, all with the goal of "service to their country".