Residential Schools

Created in 2017 for the last 150 days of the year, this list of 150 acts of reconciliation will encourage students and teachers to think about the Truth and Reconciliation Calls to Action in practical and meaningful ways.

This timeline of residential schools in Canada begins in January 1831 and provides many significant events through to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission.

This powerful animated film tells the story of Chanie Wenjack, a 12-year-old Ojibwa boy who died of exposure in 1966 while running away from a residential school. The story is told through music by Tragically Hip frontman Gord Downie and illustrations by graphic novelist Jeff Lemire.

This is a collection (from University of Toronto) of resources for teachers, relating to Gord Downie's book The Secret Path. Resources include background articles and information for teachers, as well as various lessons and tools divided by grade level.

This site has lesson plans for K-12 teachers wanting to incorporate Indigenous content in their classrooms along with many other great resources teachers can use in the classroom

An excellent guide from Alberta Regional Professional Development Consortia that supports teachers in developing their knowledge of the legacy of Residential Schools.

A very useful online collection of information about Indigenous communities in Canada.

This section of this atlas focuses on residential schools and covers some of the most devastating elements of Canada’s aggressive assimilation policies.

This organization has created some resources for teachers using Gord Downie's The Secret Path in their classrooms. The activities were created for use by high school teachers.

You will need to scroll far down the page to find links to educational resources about Canadian residential schools

The NCTR provides links to many age appropriate resources for teachers to use in the classroom or to enhance their own professional knowledge of Indigenous culture and residential schools.

View and learn more about the hundreds of Indian residential schools that were not included in the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreemen t

he Witness Blanket stands as a national monument to recognize the atrocities of the Indian residential school era, honour the children, and symbolize ongoing reconciliation.

Project of Heart is a journey of seeking truth about the history of Aboriginal people in Canada. Click on the menu item 'What is Project of Heart' to find a description of the project and resources.

Reconciliation Canada provides programs and initiatives to inspire positive change in communities throughout Canada. Teachers will want to look at the Toolkits, located in the Resources section.

In this article, an educator shares how she used "150 Acts of Reconciliation" (by University of Alberta's Crystal Gail Fraser and Sara Komarnisky) in her classroom.

Students will develop inquiry skills to help them understand the history and legacy of Canada’s Indian residential schools

From the Government of Northwest Territories, Government of Nunavut, and the Legacy of Hope Foundation, this teaching resource provides some possible approaches to engaging students in learning about Residential Schools. Note: primarily directed to Northern students.

Presentation slides and activities for teachers of Grades 5-10 students. This resource focuses on the Métis experience of Residential Schools

Presentation slides and activities for teachers of K-4 students. This resource focuses on the Métis experience of Residential Schools

Find sample lesson plans to support Education for Reconciliation through the inclusion of First Nations, Métis, and Inuit perspectives; treaty education; and residential schools’ experiences, with learning outcomes identified in the current Alberta programs of study.

This lesson plan about Truth and Reconciliation, Chief Wilton Littlechild and advancements in human rights is created for grades 5-12. The lesson includes learning targets, guiding questions, student activities and supporting documents.

A document from the Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario that provides teachers with concrete steps for action for reconciliation.

Learn about the policies of assimilation that the Canadian government enacted on Indigenous Peoples

Learn about the purpose of residential schools and the lasting impacts of those schools

Learn how the residential school system experience impacted the Inuit

Learn how the Métis people in Alberta were impacted by the Indian residential school system

This ATA resource includes entry points to acknowledge the National Day for Truth and Reconciliation and beyond for the K-12 classroom. Sample activities, resources, and key considerations are included.

Learn about workshops that provide participants with an opportunity to strengthen their foundational knowledge of First Nations, Métis and Inuit. Contact Walking Together: Education for Reconciliation for additional information on available workshops and resources.