Explore the body with these short animated movies from KidsHealth. Students can learn about bones, the nervous system, nails, the lungs and many more body systems.
This simulation requires that the "mad scientist" understand how two motor neurons communicate with each other. He must then build a neuron using a collection of parts.
If you lined up all the blood vessels in your body, they’d be 60 thousand miles long. And every day, they carry the equivalent of over two thousand gallons of blood to the body’s tissues. What effect does this pressure have on the walls of the blood vessels?
Most of the time, you won't notice it's there, but over the course of your life your immune system will guard you against hundreds of potentially fatal threats.
Emma Bryce details how kidneys balance the amount of fluid in your body, detect waste in your blood, and know when to release the vitamins, minerals, and hormones you need to stay alive.
Your muscular system is a network of over 650 muscles that covers the body and is the reason we can blink, smile, run, jump, and stand upright. This video heads into the human body to see how our muscular system works.
Oxygen forms about 21% of the air around us. In your body, oxygen forms a vital role in the production of energy in most cells. But if gases can only efficiently diffuse across tiny distances, how does oxygen reach the cells deep inside your body?
Your liver is the heaviest organ in your body, which simultaneously acts as a storehouse, a manufacturing hub, and a processing plant. Emma Bryce gives a crash course on the liver and how it helps keep us alive.
We have over 600 muscles in our bodies that help bind us together, hold us up, and help us move. Your muscles also need your constant attention, because the way you treat them on a daily basis determines whether they will wither or grow.
This is a video about the development and function of the teen brain. The video treats the teen brain as a computer upgrade. The video was created by TeenMentalHealth.org and is hosted on YouTube.
Here you can explore how all kinds of objects drift through the ocean - from rubber duckies to plastic pollution - and where each object might end up if it is washed out to sea from your beach. The website uses a scientific method that is based on observed tracks revealed by buoys in the Global Drifter.
Click on the globe to spin it. When you click on a location, you will see the latitude and longitude, as well as a visualization of global weather conditions. The weather is forecast by supercomputers and updated every three hours. The ocean surface current estimates are updated every five days.
Fly along with one of the many NASA satellites that are currently monitoring the Earth's lands, oceans and atmosphere. Choose a mission or satellite to learn more details. This requires a one-time download of an app.
How do scientists find hydrothermal vents located miles below the ocean surface? This interactive allows students to join a virtual expedition, take charge of the ship's controls, and look for a deep sea vent.
Resources to use with your students to explore freshwater and saltwater systems. If you click the links, there is a sign-in prompt -- but you can bypass the sign-in by clicking the image instead and will be able to access all the Google slides associated with that image
This video, created by Inside Education, is a review of "groundwater in Alberta. Topics include quality, distribution, uses in the province, and how it links to the hydrologic cycle." (site)
This learning experience about ocean science uses storytelling techniques, immersive technologies and interactive media. Ocean School, created by the National Film Board, guides the learner through immersive media using VR, augmented reality and 360 cinema to explore Earth's oceans.
In this 10-minute video, Hank Green from SciShow discusses seven mysterious ocean topics, Did you know that the ocean covers 70% of the planet, but we know less about the ocean floor than we do the surface of Mars?
While the Earth’s oceans are known as five separate entities, there is really only one ocean. So, how big is it? It takes up 71% of the Earth and contains up to 99% of the Earth's biosphere.
In this 18 minute TED talk, ocean explorer Robert Ballard takes us on a trip to hidden worlds underwater, where researchers are finding unexpected life, resources, and even new mountains.
This video answers the question: What are nurdles? They are the tiny, factory-made pellets that form every plastic product that we use, from toys to toothbrushes. In their quest for ocean domination, they can wreak havoc on our oceans.
This video describes the process of treating water to make it safe for drinking. The video also asks why nearly 800 million people still don’t have regular access to safe drinking water.
"Explore bending of light between two media with different indices of refraction. See how changing from air to water to glass changes the bending angle. Play with prisms of different shapes and make rainbows."
Try this amazing tool for learning the concepts of motion, forces, electricity, magnetism, light, and so much more. You can bounce and slide your way through the developed levels or get creative and make your own level.
Resources to use in your classroom to explore light and optical systems with your students. If you click the links, there is a sign-in prompt -- but you can bypass the sign-in by clicking the image instead and will be able to access all the Google slides associated with that image
An examination of a dinosaur fossil and a good understanding of the physics of light and color help paleontologists figure out the color of dinosaurs. Cool!
Universcale provides a look at objects from sub-atomic particles to red giants and all things in between using an interactive scale. This graphically beautiful tool is an outstanding way to measure and compare objects of different sizes.
Aqueducts work by allowing gravity to channel water to cities-- but what happens when the city is on a mountain? Ancient peoples in Europe found a way!
A simple animated video that provides a view into the inner workings of an Archimedes' Screw. This animation also shows how the lifting power of the screw is greater when multiple screws are used in a system.
Christian and Jared explain how combining simple machines together create a compound machine. They use a cool bamboo bicycle to explain how this happens, and why bamboo is such a cool building material.
I'm sure you've heard of Isaac Newton and maybe of some of his laws. Like, that thing about "equal and opposite reactions" and such. But what do his laws mean?
When you hear the word "work," what is the first thing you think of? Maybe working out? Work is a word that has a little bit of a different meaning in physics and today, Shini is going to walk us through it.
"Explore the forces at work when pulling against a cart,and pushing a refrigerator, crate, or person. Create an applied force and see how it makes objects move. Change friction and see how it affects the motion of objects."
Test what happens when you vary the gear ratio of a bike. The distance traveled by a half-pedal is determined by the ratio of gears. Can you capture all five flags on a course?
This page was developed by a teacher who was competing in the Iditarod. It examines the importance of understanding friction and how it will affect a dogsled on the trail.
Try this amazing tool for learning the concepts of motion, forces, electricity, magnetism, light, and so much more. You can bounce and slide your way through the developed levels or get creative and make your own level.
Resources to use with your students to explore mechanical systems. If you click the links, there is a sign-in prompt -- but you can bypass the sign-in by clicking the image instead and will be able to access all the Google slides associated with that image
In today's video I'll be using Legos to give you the most visual explanation and demonstration of horsepower and torque. If you have ever been confused by horsepower and torque, you won't confuse these two concepts again.
In this video, students will see a Persian Water Wheel which scoops water from a running river into an irrigation system. How does this machine work? Is there an engine? Is carbon produced?
Levers are a type of simple machine that allows you to multiply your work. In this video, you'll see 1st class, 2nd class, and third-class levers. You'll also learn a simple mnemonic device to help you remember which is which.
Watch as Jared explains how humans created the wheel, how the wheel and axle work together, and finally how much the wheel can help to move heavy objects!
Would it surprise you to know that baking a cake is a chemical change? Or striking a match? Sabrina talks to us about how to tell if you have a chemical change on your hands.
So, what happens to normal stuff (like water) when it goes to not-so-normal places? What happens if you take a glass of water to the top of Mt. Everest? Or space? Sabrina shows us how matter is affected by different pressures and how that makes water do some weird things.
Ever heard of Oobleck? How about non-Newtonian fluids? Well, today Sabrina is going to show us that things can sometimes behave like a solid, and sometimes like a liquid depending on how much force is applied to them.
Have you ever thought about all the different kinds of groups you’re a part of? Like, there are the friends you hang out with, your family, your hockey team, and that’s just for starters!
n this episode, Sabrina talks to us about matter and particles and that all matter is made up of particles. Also, she shows us how matter can change states from a solid to a liquid to gas
From backyard log splitters to the huge machines you see on construction sites, hydraulic equipment is amazing in its strength and agility. Learn how they work here!
Submarines are incredible pieces of technology. Not so long ago, a naval force worked entirely above the water; with the addition of the submarine to the standard naval arsenal, the world below the surface became a battleground as well.
Welcome to Pipeline Pressure! Here you can explore activities to learn the basics about pipelines and flowing fluids. Start by clicking on the first hotspot below to begin your adventure!
Watch this animated video that describes how a mixture contains two or more substances that retain all their original properties and can be physically separated. Try the quiz to test your understanding.
In this episode we will be racing liquids to test the viscosity of liquids. We use multiple liquids in our viscosity of liquids experiment and show you how to set up the liquid viscosity experiment.
Why does ice float in water? This TED talk explores the chemistry behind the ice floating in our cold drinks and the polar ice caps. 'Think' provides a short quiz and 'Dig Deeper' provides some additional information.
